In praise of slowness

slow2A cute one for Illustration Friday this week. The word is ‘slow’ and I was inspired, of course, by the slowness of the tortoise. I was also reminded of my grandma’s tortoise, Napoleon, who had white emulsion paint on his shell to help my nana see him in dark foliage. I thought this ‘creep’ of tortoises could be painted with the letters of a Shakespeare quote about slowness. It takes a bit of time to pick it out but that’s exactly the point.

The word this week made me search out ‘Hare Brain Tortoise Mind’ by Guy Claxton from my bookshelf. The book extols the virtue of slowing down and not thinking too hard, and importantly letting your subconscious mind work things out in its own time. It’s not an easy read though is full of ‘golden nuggets’. I particularly like the quote from A.A. Milne:  “Did you make that song up?”.”Well I sort of made it up”, said Pooh “It isn’t Brain..but it comes to me sometimes”. “Ah” said Rabbit, who never let things come to him, but always went and fetched them.

Leave a Reply

