A work in progress

20130320-163418.jpg“A work in progress quickly becomes feral. It reverts to a wild state overnight. It is barely domesticated, a mustang on which you one day fastened a halter, but which now you cannot catch. It is a lion you cage in your study. As the work grows, it gets harder to control; it is a lion growing in strength. You must visit it everyday and reassert your mastery over it. If you skip a day, you are, quite rightly afraid to open the door to its room” – Annie Dillard, The Writing Life.

I’ve recently been invited to take part in a Pecha Kucha (20 slides, 20 seconds each) at Sheffield Hallam University. The remit? 20 slides about process – an emphasis on the “stuff more than the designed outcome”. It should be a very interesting evening. Meanwhile I wonder about what to include…

I get a great deal of inspiration from the written word (and concepts expressed as words in the first instance) so it’ll be a fun set of slides to put together. I also get ideas by ‘reinterpretation’ – seeing things as other things.  A quick glance at the open, blank page of my sketchbook made me see a visual connection with my own ‘progress’ and the wonderful Dillard quote above and this illustration was born.  I don’t look at my sketchbook with such fear but it’s much less intimidating to fill when I’m feeding it everyday. Oh, and mine is more a tiger than a lion, but any big cat will do…

